Nominations

COUNCIL OF THE GREAT CITY SCHOOLS

Subcommittee on Nominations

2022-2023

Goal: To ratify slate of Officers, to nominate an individual for Secretary/Treasurer, to renew or replace incumbents whose terms on the Executive Committee are expiring and to fill vacancies on the Executive Committee.

Chair

Michael O'Neill, Boston School Committee

Members

Margo Bellamy, Anchorage School Board Guadalupe Guerrero, Portland Superintendent Aleesia Johnson, Indianapolis Superintendent Cheryl Logan, Omaha Superintendent Joyce Wilkerson, Philadelphia School Board Gary Yee, Oakland School Board

COUNCIL OF THE GREAT CITY SCHOOLS

Nominations

The Chair of the Board forwards the following nominations to fill vacancies on the Executive Committee of the Council of the Great City Schools.

Vacancies

1)	Be it resolved: That Addison Davis (Hillsborough County Superintendent) serve the unexpired term of Megan Kerr (Long Beach School Board) whose term expires on June 30, 2024.						
	ACTION BY COMMITTEE () Approved () Not Approved						
	AFFIRMED						
	Chair of the Board						
2)	Be it resolved: That Jill Baker (Long Beach Superintendent) serve the unexpired term of Michael Hinojosa (Dallas Superintendent) whose term expires on June 30, 2023.						
	ACTION BY COMMITTEE () Approved () Not Approved						
	AFFIRMED						
	Chair of the Board						
3)	Be it resolved: That Stacey Woolley (Tulsa School Board) serve the unexpired term of Siad Ali (Minneapolis School Board) whose term expires on June 30, 2025.						
	ACTION BY COMMITTEE						
	() Approved						
	() Not Approved						
	AFFIRMED						
	Chair of the Board						

Executive Committee*

2022-2023

OFFICERS

Chair of the Board: Kelly Gonez, Los Angeles School Board

Chair-Elect: Guadalupe Guerrero, Portland Superintendent

Secretary/Treasurer: Vacancy

Immediate Past-Chair: Michael O'Neill, Boston School Committee

MEMBERS

Marcia Andrews, Palm Beach County School Board Marcelo Cavazos, Arlington Superintendent Jill Baker, Long Beach Superintendent* Elyse Dashew, Charlotte-Mecklenburg School Board Addison Davis, Hillsborough County Superintendent* Valerie Davis, Fresno School Board Talisa Dixon, Columbus Superintendent Stephanie Elizalde, Dallas Superintendent Lewis Ferebee, District of Columbia Chancellor Eric Gordon, Cleveland CEO Joe Gothard, St. Paul Superintendent Shavonna Holman, Omaha School Board Jesus Jara, Clark County Superintendent Rodney Jordan, Norfolk School Board Pedro Martinez, Chicago CEO Diane Porter, Jefferson County School Board Sonja Santelises, Baltimore CEO Joyce Wilkerson, Philadelphia School Board Stacey Woolley, Tulsa School Board* Vacancy

Ex Officio

Deborah Shanley, Brooklyn College School of Education Sharon Contreras, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, College of Education

^{*}pending votes

APPOINTMENTS BY THE CHAIR, 2022-23 SUBCOMMITTEE CHAIRS AND MEMBERS

Audit Subcommittee Chair: TBD
Eric Gordon, Cleveland CEO
Lewis Ferebee, District of Columbia Chancellor
Shavonna Holman, Omaha School Board
Diane Porter, Jefferson County School Board

Vacancy

Bylaws Subcommittee Chair: Marcia Andrews, Palm Beach County School Board
Pedro Martinez, Chicago CEO
Marcelo Cavazos, Arlington Superintendent
Sonja Santelises, Baltimore CEO
Talisa Dixon, Columbus Superintendent
Rodney Jordan, Norfolk School Board

Vacancy

Membership Subcommittee Chair: Joe Gothard, St. Paul Superintendent
Stephanie Elizalde, Dallas Superintendent
Elyse Dashew, Charlotte-Mecklenburg School Board
Valerie Davis, Fresno School Board
Jesus Jara, Clark County Superintendent
Joyce Wilkerson, Philadelphia School Board

Vacancy

Ex Officio on Subcommittees: Kelly Gonez, Los Angeles School Board

Task Force Chairs

Achievement and Professional Development Task Force Co-Chair: Sonja Santelises, Baltimore CEO Co-Chair: Elyse Dashew, Charlotte-Mecklenburg School Board Co-Chair: Deborah Shanley, Brooklyn College

> Bilingual Task Force Co-Chair: TBD

Co-Chair: Marcelo Cavazos, Arlington Superintendent

Leadership, Governance, Management, and Finance Task Force Co-Chair: Jesus Jara, Clark County Superintendent Co-Chair: Joyce Wilkerson, Philadelphia School Board Task Force on Black and Latino Young Men and Boys Co-Chair: Joe Gothard, St. Paul Superintendent Co-Chair: Guadalupe Guerrero, Portland Superintendent

Task Force on Black and Latina Young Women and Girls Co-Chair: Stephanie Elizalde, Dallas Superintendent Co-Chair: Shavonna Holman, Omaha School Board

Composition of Executive Committee January 2023

Region	Male	Female	Board	Supt	Black	Hispanic	White	AAPI/	Totals
								Other	
East	3	2	2	3	3	0	2	0	5
Southeast	2	4	4	2	4	0	2	0	6
Midwest	3	3	2	4	2	3	0	1	6
West	2	3	2	3	0	3	1	1	5
Totals	10	12	10	12	9	6	5	2	22